Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Since the last century, transnational visits have become economical due to the advancements in transportation networks. However, it has sparked a controversy that the tourists from other countries could cause enmity with the local inhabitants rather than promoting mutual understanding, due to the different cultural backgrounds. I completely disagree with this notion, and I believe that this trend will increase harmony among locals and tourists even though they have different cultural values.

The primary reason why there will not be any hostility lies in the fact that native people have financial benefits linked with tourism. Travelers generate a huge scale of employment for the locals, and any incident of enmity with international visitors can have a detrimental effect on their source of income. According to a recent survey, approximately a million people traveled to Dubai in the last 5 years, yet no incident of resentment involving any tourists has recorded.

Furthermore, the upsurge of international tourism will reduce the communication gap. It is a widely accepted fact that understanding among people who belong to various cultures will improve with the increase of interaction because it will not only alleviate the conflicts but also promote a better understanding of traditions and cultural values. For instance, many Asian countries have had discrepancies on various issues with western countries. However, they were able to resolve their issues with interaction, and now they share a common understanding of many international matters.

In conclusion, international travel will not create any tension among people from different traditional backgrounds, instead, it will improve the co-operation and understanding of cultural values. Therefore, the notion that international tourism will cause tension must be discouraged.