More and more information about the lives of celebrities is found in newspapers magazines and on line Why is this happening What are the disadvantages for the reading public

It is undoubtedly true that nowadays media is paying more attention to the lives of celebrity than ever before. This may raise the profit of news agencies, but often society faces several negative consequences. In this essay, I will explain few of the reason behind this phenomenon and also illustrates some drawbacks of it.

Psychology most of the people are not strong enough to be self-confident, and want to become popular among others. Consequently, we follow those people who are already popular, and consider them as an ideal for their life. Considering this psychological weakness, the media industry has started to publish the news of popular peoples, in recent days. In addition, information is ubiquitously available and anybody can publish about anything through on-line, and therefore celebrities themselves create more publication to enhance their popularity.

As a result of these publications, we forget who we are in reality, and what is our basic need. The Most significant drawback is that showing a celebrity as a superior makes us feel inferior. To overcome it, we spend money to copy their lifestyle; and as a consequence, we lost most of our valuable saving. For example, we can see how the luxurious travel industries and luxury fashion brands are booming and making profits. Secondly, most of us forget the poor who need our help and support. Instead of spending money for expensive dresses, we forget it is more pleasurable to see a smile on others face. As we are getting more self-centred, our society is getting more fragmented.

In conclusion, the way media industries are using our psychological weakness to make profit is lead to an undesirable society. I believe that news agencies should be responsible to the society and publish more good news, rather stories about celebrities’ life.