More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work What will be the consequences of this What solutions can you offer

Over the last few decades, there has been an unprecedented rise in urbanisation. A growing number of individuals from rural areas are settling into cities to find better employment opportunities. This trend has several negative influences which are going to be discussed in the following paragraphs along with the solutions.

To begin with, this new social change will produce tremendous stress and pressure in the job sector. As graduates are already facing fierce competition in the job market , more people in the cities would intensify the situation. It is highly probable that the job recruiters would demand more from the applicants while selecting them for jobs , which again give rise to a tensious atmosphere. Resultantly , there would be more jobless graduates in the cities , giving rise to unemployment problem.

Secondly , this change will negatively affect the crop production and hence the nation economy. To elaborate , if the workers from agricultural fields will move to the cities , there would be lack of effective manual workforce in the agricultural farms to carry out several farming practices. This will not only impair the quality of crops but also highly decrease their quantity. Consequently , taking a long term perspective , people may have to suffer from the lack of supply of food products such as wheat , rice and others . In all , these all factors will adversely affect the national economy.

Moving further , few measures can be suggested in order to reverse this problem. Firstly , cost prices of crops should be increased. As currently farmers receive very little prices for their crops in the market , which compels them to find jobs in factories or industries instead. However , increased cost for their crops would encourage them to continue with farming. Another solution has to come from reducing the prices of various fertilizers , seeds and pesticides so that farmers can easily purchase them .

To conclude , it can be reiterated that the trend of migration from non-urban areas to populated areas would cause severe consequences on the societies and nation as a whole. However , by taking some constructive solutions , this problem can be mitigated .