More and more people are now considering wearing fashionable clothes very important. Is it positive or negative?

Today, modern and fashionable clothes have become an increasingly important part of people’s lives. this development is extremely negative because people will become more wasteful with their clothes and it will cost them a lot of money to chase after new fashions.

when individuals have a strong desire to wear the most fashionable outfits, they will have a tendency to dispose their old clothes more often. In other words, people will only want to store the lastest designs of apparel in their closets, and thus, they will have to throw away their used clothes of which they consider outdated. For example, an article from The new York Times indicated that the vast majority of teenage Americans threw away more than 100 tons of used clothes every day in 2004 and most of these clothes were only worn for less than a week.

Furthermore, it will cost people a substantial amount of money when they become too fashion-conscious. this is to say that, unlike second-hand and old-fashioned outfits, it is extremely expensive to purchase fashionable ones when they are newly designed and produced, and people will not be able to stop buying products once they are addicted to owning the most fashionable clothes. For instance, a study by the National University in Seoul has reported that a normal Korean man would spend an average number of 50 dollars on new shirts every day.

In conclusion, it is indeed that more and more people have considered that fashionable clothes are essential in their lives; however, this is strongly negative because they will throw their old clothes away more and they will also spend more money to serve their desire.