More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?

Nowadays, most of the individuals travel by cars rather than using public means of transports. This essay shall throw light on the reasons behind this choice of people and steps which official authorities should take to motivate the individuals to make use of public transports.

There are plethora of reasons that citizens prefer to use private transports. The predominant of all is that people are living in a world where they are praised for their high living standards. So, they use luxurious cars to travel, even walk-able distances, just to show-off their money to the community. Another reason is that is that public means for example, buses, take huge amount of time to reach at the destination because it stops at different stands for passengers. In order to save time, people travel by car.

Moving further, due to the advancement of technology, various luxurious cars have been launched with attractive bodies. People have enough money to spend on such cars for their comfort as pubic transports are not comfortable. But, excessive use of cars arise several issues, such as, traffic problem, environmental pollution, wastage of fuel, etctera.

Government has to take steps to encourage citizens of the country to use public transports. Firstly, fares of the buses should be reduced which people can easily afford in order to motivate them. Secondly, more number of public means should be available so that individuals do not have to wait for them. Last but not the least, authorities should make people aware of the problems caused by using private transports.

In conclusion, I would like to say that although cars are luxurious and comfortable mode of transportation but are causing various problems so government should make efforts to motivate individuals to use public transports.