More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?

Nowadays, most of the people travel by car instead of using public means of transports. This essay shall discuss about the reasons behind this choice of individuals and measures which government should take to motivate them to use public transports.

The predominant cause of this trend is that in this era, people are living in a world where they are known by their standard of living. So, they prefer to travel, even shortest distances, by car to show-off their money to the community. Secondly, public means such as buses, take a lot of time to reach at the destination causes wastage of time. Thirdly, cars are much more comfortable than buses. Also, people can travel at any time as per their need on cars which is not possible with public transports. Fourthly, cars are now available at reasonable prices. Even, individuals with lower income can buy them. So, the use of cars is increasing day-by-day.

Moreover, social evils such as rapes, pick pocketing, snatching has become so popular in buses and trains. So, citizens travel by car for their safety. Although, using cars for travelling has numerous of advantages. But, their excessive use has caused several issues such as increase in traffic on roads, environmental pollution, wastage of fuel and list goes on.

Government should take effective measures to encourage individuals to use public transports. First of all, fares of the public transports should be reduced. Secondly, more and more transports should be available so that people do not have to wait for them. Thirdly, helpline numbers should be displayed in the vehicles so that travellers should make use of them during emergency situations and cameras should be installed to reduce crime in public means. Last but not the least, government should organise various seminars to aware people about the obstacles raised by the excessive use of private vehicles.

To conclude, I would like to say that however, cars are safer and comfortable but their use is causing huge troubles to the environment as well as to the society so it is the prime responsibility of the official authorities to take conservative measures to encourage people to use public transports.