More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries.

Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Health should be the first and foremost focus of every individual in their lives because I think a healthy person can make a meaningful contribution to society. However, In this decade, with the advancement of technology health has become a major issue amongst people, especially youngsters. It has been observed that many developed nations have overweighted children as compared to less developed countries. In this essay, I will determine the main causes and effects of this problem in detail.

Apparently, modernization and westernization are to be blamed for this universal phenomenon. However, it begets harrowing upshot on modern society. To begin with, in the past, most of the youth were involved in outdoor activities because there were no technological innovations that have build interest in today's juveniles. These interests are computer games, PlayStations, Smartphones, and Xbox which utilize the leisure time of children that could be used in physical activities like outdoor sports such as cricket, football, badminton, cycling, and aerobics. Because of sitting in homes, there has been obesity observed among today's youngsters, especially in developed countries. Besides, it has also affected the metabolism rate of individuals as they are more involved in indoor activities using technological devices.

Another reason for increasing overweighted children is junk food. Higher intake of unhealthy foods affects the person's body which begets serious health-related issues such as heart problems, obesity, diabetes, and other chronic illness. For instance, a recent survey conducted by BCC says that over-consumption of unhealthy meals like street food has causes obesity problems, especially in youngsters, and has become an alarming trend. Therefore, it is essential to follow healthy balanced meals for everyone to reduce the effect of obesity in developed countries.

To conclude, although overweight problems among children in developed nations might have become a serious problem, it can be handled by governments and parents of these adolescents by taking appropriate actions and diverting children towards physical activities and healthy meals in their lives.