In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education.

What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Indubitably, it is the school's responsibility for shaping the mindset as well as building the careers of children. There is an ongoing trend in Europe that some adolescents of age 11 or 13 attending vocational schools because it will help them to land up a job while others feel academic education is crucial for pupils to secure their future in terms of financial security and stability.

There are multiple ways to prepare a child for his or her future through the modest ways of learning in schools. First and foremost, teaching discipline to children in schools helps them to think and improves learning ability, which is extremely valuable in life. Besides, an elementary school knowledge of all subjects is essential for every student to compete in a challenging world. Secondly, academic schoolchildren can participate in extra-curricular activities which generally should be encouraged by parents and teachers in order to develop the overall personality of a person.

Conversely, we must understand that not all children are academically oriented. Therefore, it is best to motivate such children to start learning a vocational program in schools from an early age in order to prepare them to earn their bread and butter. In this way, they will be able to excel in their field and have enough time to explore options. With such kind of opportunity, children can become great young entrepreneurs at the beginning of their adulthood.

In conclusion, in my opinion, educational institutions can provide a perfect blend of both these situations by teaching the fundamental concepts of academic subjects and vocational programs like carpentry, fashion designing, and automotive courses. It will allow young minds to discover alternate career options while giving a comfort of environment.