Most of the people in society enjoy watching crime movies and criminal TV programs. Why do you think people have more interest to watch them? What is the impact on society due to this?

Watching TV shows and movies based on crime have gained popularity among a large section of society. The crime show admirers propose that understanding criminal psychology aware them about the dangers present in their homes as well as in society. However, there is also a downside associated with the popularity of crime shows.

To begin with, most people tend to gather information about their surroundings which may assist them in the future. In other words, the curiosity of the masses to understand criminal behaviour and the ideologies of a convict not only excite them but also help them in comprehending suspicious illegal activities that may be happening around them. Furthermore, the majority of crime shows and films are based on real-life incidents which are definitely more interesting than any other serial or drama movie. By following such movies, people feel closer to reality and get even more attached to watching shows which keep them on edge.

One of the main advantages of this phenomenon is that people are now more cautious and have a better understanding of the modus operandi of criminals. This also helps people in safeguarding their homes and protecting their children from being a victim of any offence. Moreover, they can foresee any errant behavioural pattern in youngsters around them and, hence, inculcate necessary moral and ethical values in them.

However, this change in the taste of movie genre among the masses has also brought negatives along with it. For instance, gun violence in a metropolitan city, Los Angeles, doubled after the screening of a Hollywood movie called "Joker", raising serious questions on the content of the film.

In conclusion, the feeling of excitement, thrill and curiosity have inclined people towards watching crime shows which have had a far-reaching impact on people's behaviour and society. While crime shows have generated awareness at a large scale, they are also the reason behind increasing crime rate in communities.