Today people do less exercise. Conducting sports events such as the Olympics or World Cup encourage people to live healthily. While some people indicate that there are various other methods to remain healthy.

Discuss both views and state your opinion.

The developments in the technological front have made people sluggish and prone to many health diseases. Therefore, a section of society asserts that organising more sporting events, such as Olympics and World Cup, would propel people to opt for a healthier lifestyle, whereas others believe that there are various alternatives which can encourage people to follow a healthy life. I agree with the latter and consider that the habit of regular exercise, balanced diet along with the assistance of the government, people can live a healthy and prosperous life.

Indubitably, promoting and organising global sporting events on a large scale will have a strong influence on people's minds. When the masses will watch their role models not only participating in such competitions but also excelling in the game, they would get encouraged to look and perform like their idols. Moreover, these events will inspire and motivate people to pursue sports as a career, leading to an active lifestyle. For instance, former Indian cricket team captain, M.S. Dhoni, joined the team only when he saw Sachin Tendulkar, the world-famous cricketer, on the field.

Nevertheless, from an enlightened standpoint, many other ways can be adopted, which would assist people in maintaining their health. For one, people can be sensitised about the detrimental effects of consuming junk food, such as high cholesterol level, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and premature death. This would encourage people to reduce the intake of unwanted calories and replace unhealthy food with healthier options. Furthermore, the government can build open-gyms in public parks and levy taxes on fatty food items. Enforcement of the fat tax by the Japanese government is an epitome of the benefits that the authorities can bring.

To conclude, hosting and promoting sporting events would have an impact on the society; however, pursuing healthy lifestyle is a personal choice but with the efforts of the authorities and the community, people can be encouraged to discard unhealthy living.