Music should not be taught in schools. Instead, other subjects such as computers and science should be taught. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I agree with the statement that computer and science should be taught in the schools instead of music. I hold this opinion for a couple of reasons.

First, learning computer and science seems to be more crucial than learning music because it helps students to obtain useful skills. For instance, my brother learned computer, especially programming, when he was in the high school. After starting college, he landed a part-time job in a computer company. Indeed, this skill helped him to make living.

Next, if the music is taught in the schools, students would not have enough enthusiasm to spend time on other courses such as computer and science. For example, when I was in the high school, we had a painting course on Wednesdays. Although we had other courses in our schedule for that day such as mathematics and chemistry, we just paid attention to painting class and did not have any interest in other courses because that was more enjoyable. Therefore, teaching music or other artistic courses to students could be distracting for them.

Eventually, learning computer and science should be a high priority for students because these fields are important requirements for universities that they might apply for in future. For instance, when I applied for civil engineering department in our university, my scores in mathematics and computer science were very appreciable to get admission.

As it is mentioned above, learning computer and science is more beneficial than music. Hence, these courses have to be taught instead of artistic coursed such as music.