News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words What is your opinion about this

On media as TV or newspapers, whether the news in combination of pictures and texts are more effective than in the words only is still in question as my concern, in that both of them are essential to the news reports.

To begin with, the news stories can not exist without text content since it is the main structure of news. Read by reporters, the words are the first information gained by audiences. With this introduction, we can get to know the time, place and events happened clearly. After the words, the pictures from live report could assist us to understand the news. At this time, with the comments of the reporters, we can know more details and the stand of the media.

However, if there are few picutures in the news, audiences may get boring with the stories reported on media, even confused with the things happened in the news. Without live report in pictures, we may not know clearly how the twin tower crashed by the planes hijacked by the terrorists in 911. Let alone the photos of the victims jumping from this building. These pictures genuinely represented what was happening on that day, as the day we will remember forever.

In all, neither of the two contents could be negelected in the news report. More pictures are not necessarily express less ideas than the words, it depends on the stories presented by the media. The war news for instance, pictures of the victims and injured soldiers are more impressive than the words to show the eagerness of peace. Thus based on the way of reporting, the media should be more flexible with using prictures or texts, which are the tools to show the points they want to share with us.