News stories on TV and newspapers are very often accompanied by picture. Some people say that these picture are more effective than words.

What is your opinion for this?

In our daily life, we see many photos or images of news events in newspapers and on television. Some people say that the images are more effective to tell the truth than words. Basically I agree to this idea, but there is some different idea as well.

The idea that showing pictures is the effective way is obviously true, because we can see a lot of photos and image in media. We can see the atmosphere, facial expressions and background sceneries from the photos. Everybody believes that watching is more vital than hearing. In addition, Young people do not like reading recently. They are used to collecting information for the internet rather than book. For the young generation, Images should be much more effective then reading every single letters, needless to say.

However, photos cannot tell more then they show. You can see a facial expression of the murderer in the picture, but you never know his history or habits without reading an investigation report about him. When the East Japan Earthquake occurred, I read a lot of newspaper articles about the families of victims. There is a huge amount of stories of children who lost parents with Tsunami and a man who lost his wife with a baby in her tummy, and so on. At the time, I felt strongly that words are much effective than pictures.

To sum up, If I am asked the question which more effective is, picture or words, I would say picture but we should be more flexible to accept reading words as well as watching images, not escaping from letters. We have to try to collect the balance information from media, not only the pictures, but also valuable words.