News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than mere words.

Some would argue that news and information displayed on televisions and newspapers or magazines that were accompanied with images or graphics are usually more efficient than mere texts and I totally support this school of thought because it makes it very captivating and creates a 'mental model' on the recipients minds.

Firstly, adding graphics to stories on news medias makes it very interesting aside the fact that it is also esthetically pleasing. It draws the attention of the individual and makes it less boring. A recent research shows that people reacts more positively to any information with images and bring out their curiosity. For example, using a celebrity in an advert will definitely makes anybody wants to listen to what the advertisement is all about. A very good example is using a popular actress, 'Mary Sledge' popularly known as Joyce in a 'Family planning advertisement'.

Secondly, adding a related graphics to stories on Television and daily newspapers also creates a 'mental model' on individual minds. People relate better with pictures. We are in an era of information explosion, there are just too much information to process. Also, seeing pictures enables us to decide which stories are worth divulging because we can priorities. For instance, a recent survey about which educational program does students watch most in Japan, reveals that, a numeral educational program tops the chart because images were used to teach numbers and their operations and not the conventional method of memorization. In the program intersecting strokes of lines were used to teach a multiplication which makes it very interesting and easy to understand.

In my opinion, I believe the use of graphics is essential in news and publications because of the obvious advantages of creating more awareness and efficiency.