News stories on TV and in papers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It is thought by some people that pictures in news on TV or in a newspaper are most important contents. They say that printed text information or reporter’s speech are unessential if there are photos or videos attached. I can’t totally agree with this statement due some reasons, that I will explain in this essay.

There are a lot of magazines and newspapers which predominantly contain textual information and small number of pictures. The main advantage of such printed products is their own cheapness. If you want to sell something you may probably make an advertisement in special section of such newspaper for the insignificant charge.

However, some sorts of media information is preferable in some news. To give a clear example, there was a car accident that took a place in my native city three months ago. Our local magazine instantly printed an article in their last edition, but due lack of time they hadn’t put any photo of the accident itself. As a result, it was very hard to comprehend what happened after reading of those article and I finally, could only realize the outcomes of that tragedy after I’ve watched a reportage on TV with full-length footage and comments.

As you see, both sorts of content are mandatory in news. Even “no comment” footage usually contains some background information, which located in the bottom of the video as a subtitles. It’s obviously that video or picture can describe only consequences of a situation. If journalists want to provide information to inhabitants, they should explain the reasons that caused this.

In conclusion, pictures and videos are preferable in the news which are complicated and need an additional explanation. Textual information is important almost everywhere and we can’t avoid it.