Not enough people realize the importance of natural world. What are the reasons of people’s lack of awareness? How can people be made more aware?

Many people are unaware that how indispensable it is to protect natural living conditions of the world, and, strangely, this is the fault of our education system which is not performing its responsibility of educating people about environmental protection. In fact, media, other than educational institutions, can play a significant role in bringing awareness to public.

As long as education system does not realize the need to study natural world, it would be impossible for people to know and value it. Since children, from grade one, learn more about science and mathematics, they, as a result of limited exposure, hardly develop their interest in knowing about the universe. Similarly, 90 percent universities are offering degrees relevant to science, art and law while very few are considering environment and nature based courses useful. For this reason, people, unintentionally, are less inclined towards recognizing worth of natural world, but interested only in enjoying its beauty.

Whereas, media and educational institutions can create a difference. Undoubtedly, media has a gigantic power to persuade people’ mind from one field of study towards another. By presenting fascinating natural features of the world, their benefits and consequences if destroyed, people can become more aware than ever before. Education, likewise, is crucial for elaborating substantial value of natural resources though. Subjects, for instance, can be introduced all educational levels—from primary to secondary. In addition, people should be provided with the opportunity to be more active in environment related activities since this is an area of work limited to concerned departments only. So, involvement of general public needs to be encouraged by arranging awareness workshops and voluntary training sessions regarding nature preservation.

Unlike the past, education system should revise its courses by including more environment exploring subjects, which would allow people to have insight of the universe. This cannot be possible to achieve unless both media and education system comprehend this necessity.