Some people think libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While computers are considered an economical source of getting information and they should replace libraries, many people choose traditional methods of acquiring data which means to read books in libraries. In my opinion, instead of replacing libraries with computers, both facilities should be provided to knowledge seekers at one place which would be less expensive.

It is thought by some people that computer-based libraries are less expensive than maintaining conventional libraries. A computer-based library is considered cost-effective because a large size data can be stored in just one computer without any risk of its deterioration. Since only one soft copy of books is required, which can be copied and transferred further as many times as needed. Moreover, books in soft form will not tear apart even after years since books in computers are safer from dust and humidity than in book-racks. Therefore, computer libraries do not have to arrange a massive number of books on shelves and racks which saves both money and space. In addition, a central computer-based system does not require as much staff as a conventional library does. It is managed just one-handedly by connecting computers to one central system, so a reduction in staff members can save a lot of money.

Most people, on the other hand, are not computer literate; therefore, the significance of conventional libraries cannot be overlooked. Elderly people, for example, prefer reading books, magazines in hard form rather on computers because they find screen-reading pretty difficult. Moreover, if data on a computer gets deleted, it will be almost impossible to recover it. It might cost administration a hefty amount to avail services of a computer expert to recover deleted files. However, repair of a torn book does not involve that much large amount.

In my opinion, the system can be upgraded by including one or two computer labs in every conventional library. This would allow people to go for their priorities. As a result, an already existed library building can serve both purposes which would be more economical and suitable than vanishing conventional libraries completely.

To conclude, although a computer is a modern technology to read, store and transfer books, a library can fulfill the needs of both young and old generation by having both facilities under one roof. Therefore, replacing libraries with computers can cause grievance to book readers.