Nowadays, all new town planning should include public parks, shopping malls and sport facilities. Do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Designing the layout of a new town is an extremely intricate process. The question what should and should not be included sets the foundation of the town’s identity forever. In my opinion, the addition of public parks, shopping malls and sport facilities is essential to the incubation of community and the encouragement of healthy of lifestyles. I thus agree that these items should be included when a new town is being planned, and I will share examples to prove this.

Firstly, public areas and shopping centres help new towns foster a sense of community. For examples, my small Canadian town has a very nice park near its centre. At weekends, the open context of the park environment makes its possible for people to meet each other and create friendships. This sort of organic community building is seen in my home town’s shopping mall too. Shopping malls encourage interaction and thus they are great forums within which people can mingle and have experiences that could evolve into friendships. Thus, the helpful role public parks and shopping malls play in the establishing a new town is clear.

Secondly, sports facilities catalyse positive lifestyle choices among town folk. For instance, the central location of my small town’s football pitch is a regular reminder to people passing by that exercise is important. Children in the town are visually aware that sport is accessible to them, and thus they engage in physical activity regularly. This is a clear advantage to town designs that include sport facilities.

As the above shows, public parks, shopping malls and sport facilities are helpful in many ways to the establishment of a town. Their inclusion in the planning of a new town is thus highly recommended.