Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Experiments involve a large amount of testing. In the present era, human beings are heavily using animals as their samples for validation of results in the field of medicine and for the assurance of safe usage of various other products. Some people opine that this method of animal experiments should not be used anymore, whereas others hold the notion that there are various advantages of animal experiments to the human being. I am in a favour of wildlife testing. In this essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints.

There are several advantages of animal testing. First and foremost, a wide range of samples is available in the form of different species. For example, as the people living on different parts of the globe have different body structure and their health conditions are dependent on the temperature and geographical conditions of a certain region, animals of these areas can be used as testing sample, this increases the chances of the safety validations of a product for a huge population. Furthermore, this concept of animal testing is not modern, even this method was used by our ancestors for their researches. For instance, in the eighteenth century, Indians used to test the medicines on rats to find out any side-effects of the medicine.

On the flip side, there are various characteristics of animals which differ from homo sapiens. Therefore, some people believe that animals should be spared from the suffering of different tests; however, in my opinion, the testing on wildlife species give a high level of results which make a vital contribution in the analysis. Moreover, people in other professions are killing and hurting animals as well. For instance, in food industries, people are killing animals for food and, in other industries hunting wild species for leather, which comparatively raises more death rates of animals.

To recapitulate, I believe that the positive outcomes of animal experiments far outweigh the negative consequences. Although animal experiments involve killing and suffering of animals, proportionately it can save a large ratio of human population as well.