Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

People keep pets in their homes for various purposes such as poultry farming and for emotional support. In continuation to the aforesaid notion, some persons opine that having animals at a home is beneficial for kids whereas other analysts believe that it is very unhygienic and insecure for the children to have animals as a part of their family. I am a strong advocate of the former view that kids get benefitted in various ways to have pets as their companions. In this essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints.

Pets are good for children in many ways, First and foremost, animals help to develop caring and sharing nature in kids. Because animals require to feed them, this would eventually increase the quality to serve in offspring. Moreover, animals as buddies would develop the trait to share things. All these qualities would gradually make kids empathetical and that would be advantageous to him and to the society in a long run. Furthermore, playing with animals would increase the mental level of kids. For instance, studies have found that kids interacting with pets on a daily basis are more likely to grow faster in comparison to offspring playing with toys. Last but not the least, having animals at home would keep children safe from external threats like thieves.

On the contrary, some critiques think that having animals at a home is not hygienic for kids like their hair and excretion can create health issues. Besides this, having animals at home could be risky for kids too. For instance, recently in London, a dog bites on a kid arm in a fight between the two for a ball. Although, animals are dangerous for kids sometimes, yet these risks can be overcome with proper training and supervision.

To recapitulate, the advantages of pets for kids far outweigh its negative consequences. In my opinion, animals are kids best friend and offspring learns many things from them; however, its parent’s responsibility to make sure that pets would not harm their kids.