Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or a negative development?

The digitization of modern era is widely spread throughout every sphere of life. Due to which children are greatly influenced as it stems in their education and entertainment too. Kids don’t prefer playing any physical games, board games or toys anymore. In my opinion to choose electronic games over other games and toys impacts positively.

Firstly, I would like to put forth that non-electronic games and toys are entertaining too but are confining. Such games are fun to play in a group. Also, children love playing with toys as they give them sense of responsibility to take care of it and cherish them for life. For instance, playing monopoly on weekends has been a family tradition in our family and we play and have fun together.

On the other hand, I would like to emphasis on the fact that electronic games are mind engaging and very creative. Since technology has provided greater means of unlimited content, children also have been captivated by the broad spectrum of details and specifications of their fictitious characters or story lines in their games, it is beneficial for them to experience such innovation. This level of variety is not possible in other games and toys. Kids get bored easily and tired by rigorous physical activity. Electronic games can also be a way of familial bonding. For example, my nephews are scattered all over the world, yet they greatly enjoy playing together the same game at the same time. It has become a means of their interaction and having fun together.

Thirdly, although other games and toys are also a means of learning, but they are limited and can’t be as beneficial as electronic games. The levels of details involved, the vast pool of content is at par which helps children to research, strategies and challenge themselves which is not available with other games or toys. For example, one of my school friends was so inspired by the working of an electronic game, she went on and became a successful programmer. She studied and worked hard and built several other interactive and learning electronic games for children.

In conclusion, other games and toys are constrained and hence I strongly believe that electronic games are the future of learning and a means of having entertainment for children. This is a positive development which parents should widely encourage and instigate the responsibility of moderation too.