Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Due to globalization, lot of supermarkets have increased in recent years and this is causing a problem to small local shops. I think there are a number of ways that governments can aim to deal with this phenomenon.

One of the side effects of globalization is its impact on local businesses. For example, large supermarkets have sprung throughout cities. A large supermarket has everything to offer including a variety of items, this has influenced people to avoid local shops. The items are imported from different countries in huge quantities and thus the pricing is very low when compared to local shops. As a result, local business is not able to compete and sustain themselves and closed their businesses and people are now unemployed.

One of the best approaches governments can take is to limit the licensing of large supermarkets in residential areas. This means that a detailed study should be done before granting licenses. Local shops usually thrive in residential areas. New licenses to open supermarkets should be given only for commercial areas. Another approach is to tax large supermarkets and subsidize tax for local businesses. Local shops usually are run by local people and they do thus to sustain their families. Large corporations usually run supermarkets just for profit.

Another out-of-box approach which governments can take is to put a condition on supermarkets to purchase at least 40% of their merchandise from local businesses. This policy will help local shops to flourish. If consumers prefer large supermarkets, still local shops would be doing good business as suppliers.

Clearly, local shops cannot compete with large supermarkets. This will lead to unemployment. Governments can do a lot to support local businesses and shops by taking some drastic measures like limiting the licensing of large supermarkets, taxation and forcing them to buy merchandise from local shops.