Many small local shops are closing at they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area How does this effect local communities How could this situation be improved

In this contemporary era, supermarkets have expanded across the globe. While a stratum a society claims that due to expansion of supermarkets, many local vendors are impacted, others argue that they serve the society in a better way. Although I partially agree with view, I will still delve into both the views.

On the one hand, supermarkets are giving a comfortable shopping experience to their customers by providing all the goods and services under a single roof. Nowadays purchasers can compare and select from a wide range of collections and they can shop foreign products from their nearby supermarkets. To exemplify, after the expansion supermarkets like Walmart and Reliance, people are introduced to many foreign products like California dates for its best quality and variety of pizza sauces, chocolates and perfumes. Previously, one can taste these kinds of products if somebody gift them when they visit from a foreign nation.

On the flip side, to save the local business from competition with the supermarkets, Governments can offer loan to them at a subsidized interest rate to expand their small business. Further, local stores owners’ can add their shops to the online shopping portals to increase their visibility and sales. For Instance, in giant online shopping portals like Amazon and Flipkart, many local businesses are selling their products across the globe with a reasonable profit margin and it helps them to survive in the business and to compete with the supermarkets.

To Conclude, I personally believe that supermarkets have some positive effects on the society, still there are few drawbacks to the local communities.