Nowadays children watch too much TV.

Why is this happening, and what can be done to prevent it?

Over the years the lifestyle of people has been changed dramatically, and its consequence can be seen in the lifestyle of children. These days, TV programs became the main source of entertainment for children. Forming this new trend is the result of two main factors: small buildings and busy parents. In this essay, the role of these factors on this trend will be analyzed and some solutions will be presented.

Due to the limitation of grounds in cities for making new houses and an increase in population, the new apartments are smaller than before, and therefore, children cannot easily without being obstructed by the furniture or walls practice physical activities such as running. In addition, today’s life requires both parents working for many hours to be able to offer a stable economic situation to the family. This means they have less time to spend with the new generation and take them outside for physical activities. In my childhood, For example, we as a family went every evening to the park near our home to do running and cycling, but my nieces do not have these privilege as their parents have to work until evening, and when they reach home, they are tired and must do daily chores, so cannot take their children outside. These two main factors changed the way that children are entertained nowadays.

Nevertheless, very active and efficient time management can help parents to find time for their children and take them to parks or mountains. A well-developed plan can help parents to divide daily chores among themselves and every evening for one or two hours one of them will be free and can go outside with children to stimulate physical activities. Another way to turn this trend around is to restrict the watching television to a specific amount of hours, for example, one hour a day. A combination of these two solutions can reduce the watching hours among children.

In summary, the hectic lifestyle of parents and limited living areas in apartments are counted as the main contributor in the new trend and as solutions, it has been recommended that parents spare some time for their children through practicing time management skills and limit the hours that children can watch television.