Some people believe that to be a successful sportsperson, one needs to have a natural ability. Others think that hard work and practice are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Different factors play a role in the success of a person in whatever he is doing. Some say to have great achievements in sport, it is a must to possess potential while others believe being diligent and persistent in doing exercises is more important than the body’s ability. This essay will analyze each view and based on the analysis, and in the final paragraph, the author will give his opinion.

For some, there is no doubt that in sport having the natural ability is important as it is in any other field to stand on the high ranks. They say our potentials may turn to something big if we work on them and make them active. However, if there is no potential at all, there is no chance to get something out of it no matter whatsoever we do. As an example, consider a person who wants to be the best in weight lifting but has thin and weak bones although has well-developed muscles. He will not be able to compete with somebody who has a body consists of big and strong bones and well-developed muscles. This simply shows that the potential has to be there.

Some refute the idea to be a champion in a sport you need to have the potential and they believe everybody has the potential and it is a matter of hard work and practice that decides who is the winner. Their example for this is Jiji Boof an Italian runner, who nobody sees any potential in him to be the champion of the Marathon. Nevertheless, he was exercising 10 hours every single day for five years and at the end, he won the competition. This shows that being diligent and persistent in exercises will finally pay for the price.

To recapitulate, It has been discussed that having natural ability is the predominant factor to be a successful sportsperson for some while others focus more on hard work and practice. In my view, both ideas are partially true and I believe is their combination which leads to a big achievement in sport and none of them alone is enough.