Nowadays public transport prices are constantly increasing. Why do you think it is happening? How can this problem be solved?

Recently, the price of different products and services has been marked up including public transport. this essay will look through the reason for this phenomenon in public transport and also offers some solutions.

There are many reasons for the increment in the prices but there are two main parameters which have a high influence on the prices in public transport. Firstly, the fossil fuel price has been increased in comparison to some years ago about 40 percent which has been reported by The World Bank. Since public transportation is running on fossil fuels, it has to move in tandem to keep itself economically meaningful for the governments as the provider of this service. Secondly, drivers receive a much better salary rather than before. A higher salary for drivers is equal to a higher cost of running this service for the provider. As a result, the price marks up is inevitable.

Nevertheless, there are remedies to turn round this trend. The old fossil fuel-based buses and trains can be replaced by new and modern ones which are much more efficient and cheaper. In addition, electricity’s price is much less than the fossil fuel price, which leads to a lower overall cost for the provider. Another solution can be considered is the employment of artificial intelligence (AI) in public transport. The advanced AI can offer self-driven vehicles, which means the drivers in public transport can be substituted by a machine. As a consequence, the cost of the service will drop dramatically and thus, the ticket price can come down.

To recapitulate, The increment in the drivers’ salary and fuel price has been mentioned as predominant reasons for hiking up in public transport prices. On the other hand, Using electrical buses and trains and AI in public transport has been suggested as feasible solutions to this problem.