Nowadays public transport prices are constantly increasing. Why do you think it is happening? How can this problem be solved?

There is evergrowing population in many cities worldwide. To serve people, administration everwhere is successfully implementing public transport systems. For the purpose of safe travel and time saving, general people have inclination to use such public transport. To keep the service upto date it’s a need of hour, to increase rates of such public transport. Further paragraphs will enumerate reasons for increase in prices and possible solutions.

Public transports have to keep their engines updated, pollution free, there is major cost involved in these updations. For example railway engines were shifted from coal to electricity in India. Within city area, buses are nowadays given a special corridor named as BRT (Bus Rapid Transit) For such corridor central road has been reserved with corridor on both sided and special stops. To such infrastructure upgradation, administration invest major funds. Similar is case for metro or monorail, there is huge investment required to make them operational. So all these investments and costs are recovered from public by way of increase in prices.

To avoid increasing such rates and burden on public, there are various solutions. Administration should earmark funds specially for public transport. Wherever possible, they should do tie ups with private companies and have a public-private partnership (PPP) Also they should divide their cost of investment in number of years and should have slow recovery to avoid huge burden on public. One more point should be considered is to do accurate planning. To illustrate avoid routes where there are no major requirement and save money.

To sum up, it is obvious that cost will be involved in implementing public transport in efficient manner, but such cost should not be immediately recovered from public, but various other means such as PPP should be looked into.