Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are leading a busy lifestyle and do not have time for our favorite pastime. It is believed by the certain group of people that in order to lead a joyful life, we need to adapt hobbies which must be demanding and challenging. However, I believe that leisure time can be either difficult or relaxing depending on the individual’s lifestyle.

Those who are performing sedentary jobs should opt for endeavoring activities as a hobby. If a person is spending whole day in front of a computer screen and after coming home crash on the sofa to watch his favorite show, this will deteriorate his health in the long run. In order to keep himself fit and healthy, he must opt for a gym, or aerobic exercises so his body muscles maintain required strength and energy. For instance, according to my research it is proven that the major cause of life-threatening diseases, such as diabetes, highly blood pressure and heart stroke, is unhealthy life style and lack of physical activity.

On the other hand, I would not suggest that all the people must adopt challenging activities for the leisure time. To elaborate, those people who are performing labor jobs where they spent their whole day doing physical work could spend their evening time relaxing with their families at home. By this way they not only feel joyful, but allow their bodies to recover from the daily stress and strain. Furthermore, some hobbies are pursued based on the personal preferences. Art and music, for instance, is admired by a certain group of people, while others prefer to play sports. Thus, individual should be allowed to choose their leisure time activity, as long as it is not hazardous for their health.

To conclude, although it is believed by some people that leisure time must be challenging, I suggest that one formula is not fit for all. People should be allowed to choose hobbies based on their personal preferences and compatibility with their professional life.