Nowadays more and more business meetings and business trainings are taking place online.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Online communication is not a new phenomenon and during the last decades, however, it changed the way that we do our daily tasks dramatically. Although it makes the reading of the body language of participants harder during a meeting or a training session, It has significantly made the training more accessible to the people and also arranging the meetings easier.

Previously, people had to meet each other face to face to hold any meeting or training. It is more efficient to follow a person when is present physically there as you can read also his body language readily. However, having these types of meetings or educational sessions cost the participants an arm and a leg. In addition, due to the short or long travels, the meetings and training sessions will be tiresome and attendees contribute inevitably to air pollution and global warming which are not desirable.

On the other hand, holding them over the net makes which accessible to those who live or work far away or in the remote areas without any extra cost. As an example, consider Grundfos an international Danish company wants to hold a training session for its employer in three different countries, without the online communication it would cost a fortune for the company but if they hold it over the internet, they will reduce the cost dramatically. The other positive point is arranging a meeting over the net is much easier since people need to just find free time just for meeting and there is no need to consider the traveling time which can be in some cases days.

In summary, Doing business meetings and training sessions over the net has pluses such as ease of access and arrangement which with no doubt overweighs its minuses such as being harder to read the body language of participants.