Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in your opinion?

It is recommended various control measures such as appropriate land use planning and creating buffer zones for sensitive receptors. Installation of noise barriers for hospitals, schools, colleges and old-age homes, establishment of no- honking zones especially for residential areas and silence zones and development of poro- elastic road surface for traffic noise control are some of the other measures recommended in the study.

The fact is undeniable that nowadays congestion and traffic jams are increasing day by day. To curb with this problem, many people suggested the idea to construct wider roads. However, I am not disagreeing with the suggestion and according to me; there are other ways which can be suggested as below.

First of all, widening the road, as suggested by some people, to reduce the problem of too much traffic and movements has some limitations. Firstly, to increase the size of road, government has to cut down the trees adjacent to it. There are a large number of which are planted alongside the road. Therefore, to increase the lane, the department has to destroy the plants, which give the birth to another problem such as increase the air pollution and global warming. Secondly, if road’s sizes are increased, there will be left limited space for another infrastructure development. There will be few spaces available for national parks, construction of new colonies, museums, new railways lines and parking areas etc. therefore, instead of this solution to meet this problem, there are other alternatives.

It is commonly known to us that the most common reason for congestion is people have a lot of disposable income and due to that many people are able to buy cars. Therefore, the people should be stimulated to use the public transport the most. Resultantly, there will be less cars or motorcycles on roads, which automatically reduce the problem of which the people are facing out. Also, the government should also take stern action or imply new law which insists the commuter to use railway transport or public buses to control the traffic jams. For example, the Singapore government is making the plan to stop the registration of new vehicle. This transformational move will not allow any growth in its car population from February 2018. In addition to this, car pooling is also a proposal to limit the vehicles on road and reduction in traffic jam.

At last but not least, by citing the above mentioned suggestion it can be concluded that only widen the road is not feasible idea.