Some people are convinced that mature age employees are beneficial to a company. Others think that younger employees contribute more and hence are more beneficial to a company. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is observed that different people have a varied opinion about the employees. According to some individuals, mature employees are beneficial to company as compared to young one, while others believe that younger employees contribute more and therefore they are more beneficial to company. Both the views will be critiqued before reaching a reasoned conclusion.

One the one hand, older employees is equipped with year of experience. Hence, less training is required, which save time and billable hours. Secondly, exodus rate is also lower in case of matured employees. These employees are capable of doing the job under stress as they have already had a lot of experience of dealing with stress management. Therefore, turnover rate is also less in this case. Furthermore, they have better communication skill. Older workers often understand the workplace politics and know how to convey their ideas effectively and thoughtfully. They also recognise the importance of face to face communication and lost gestures such as hand written notes. Not only that, they have a good leadership skill. They can lead, manage and utilize the staff effectively and efficiently which increase the productive rate and ultimate benefit to organisation. However, there are also some limitations of hiring the matured staff which cannot be averted. One of the biggest disadvantages of hiring a more mature employee in this day and age is that they are less likely to embrace all modern technology. Also, they are mostly occupying at higher position, so they likely to command a higher salary as compared to younger generation.

On the other hand, young employees are more active and vigorous to work. Since it is a first job, their eagerness and enthusiasm will help the employers to expect much dedication performance. Also, young generation develop positive attitude towards work. They build healthy relations with the team to understand about his/ her first nature of job. At least but not last, they are more innovative and flexible as they are able to understand the latest technology and arrange themselves accordingly. But, we cannot avert the downside. One of the major downside is that they have not clear vision of their careers. They join for a company and once they find any another opportunity they will switch to other companies, this will be a huge loss to the organisation.

After analysing both views, it is believed that both are equally important for the development of any organisation.