Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this globalised era, without any qualms, it is accepted that consumerism becomes a part-and-parcel of each individual's lives. Whilst, other people argue that there are some downsides of it. Thereby, I agree with the former viewpoint, and in this essay, I will shed some lights on both the merits and demerits by providing cogent arguments and examples.

On the one hand, compelling pieces of evidence prove that the benefits of consumer products are a boon to humanity. Firstly, the primary advantage is it all start from a range of categories: like automobiles, furniture, household products and so on, where these products save a person's time. For instance, all the household chores like washing clothes, cleaning dishes, sweeping and mopping can be done at the click of a button of a washing machine, dishwasher and vacuum cleaner. Consequently, it leaves some room for a person to unwind. Secondly, the hindmost inextricable feature is it makes human's lives easy and more comfortable. Because online e-commerce sites offer a great experience of shopping where a person allowed to shop from their own pace, without driving to brick-and-mortar stores. Hence, these products are highly essential for humans in all aspects.

On the flip side, people across the board discriminates the aforementioned view and claim it has myriads of disadvantages. First, the person becomes materialistic by owning these huge products like a tablet computer, high-end laptop, sports car, and so on. This creates an urge to buy new gadgets and turn them as an impulsive buyer. Moreover, a person may succumb to large financial debts after purchasing products like 3D flat television and smartphones on instalments or credit cards. As a result, a person may lose frugality and the society may become dysfunctional. However, for these products they have a plethora of offers available as well as in affordable range, so its drawbacks can be fixed easily.

In conclusion, though there are some demerits in buying consumer products, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Ergo, its contrary can be overlooked or curbed. Consequently, these products save time and offer a convenient and comfortable lifestyle for people.