Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be.What do you think are the causes of this?What can be done to make families closer?

Why were families initially very close-knit and shared such close bonds? This could be because they were less stressed and devoid of technology. Currently, man is constantly under pressure. In addition, technology even thought may have it's own advantages, has played a major role in increasing the distance among family. This essay shall analyze the causes and solutions to make family closer.

To begin with, everyone these days, particularly the working class, are in a rat race and lead extremely busy lives. People run pillar to post to make ends meet and therefore, they neither have time for family nor for personal care. Furthermore, many are constantly faced with a crunch for time, for they try to accomplish more within a short span of time. Similarly, due to the boom of electronic gadgets and internet, people are constantly hooked to their devices, unaware of their surroundings. This in turn reduces communication, which is the foundation of a healthy family. For instance, almost 40% of families prefer to communicate via social media rather than talking face to face. Consequently, reducing personal interactions and damaging relationships.

Probably, one of the key solution is to spend ample time with family. Firstly, once at home, all electronic devices must be switched off and undivided attention should be given to spouse and children. Secondly, even if it is impossible to have all meals together, efforts must be made, to at least have dinner together. Lastly, indulge in activities where every family member can participate. For example, weekends can be reserved for outdoor activities, while movie night or board games can be taken up during weekdays. If family is made priority, the ties among it's members will strengthen.

To recapitulate, in the early days man was significantly less harrowed and unbound by technology. Nowadays, fast paced lives and technological advancement has severely impacted the smallest unit of a society. However, dedicating certain time to family can reverse it's consequences.