Nowadays the increased amount of garbage is a real concern. Why this is happening. what can be done to resolve it?

Concept of garbage is as old as the human history, but recently, as the population is skyrocketing, it has become a new phenomenon of a real concern. However, if we pinpoint the real cause, we can solve this issue in no time.

There are a number of factors which are responsible for this condition. Firstly, in some areas the sewage system is still not underground. These were built approximately hundred years ago and they are not capable to handle dump of recent population and usually overflow in the rainy season and the liter is all over the roads and grounds. Secondly, technology has helped humans in enormous ways, but you cannot ignore it’s drawbacks. Things made of synthetic material-polythene bags, Plastic bottles, Tins, cans, Boxes- do not usually disintegrate into the environment and can be hugely dangerous for marine creatures and also results in high amounts of filth on the earth. Thirdly, Council does not pick up the garbage in regular basis and in some areas, even the service is not provided. Finally, some people habitually through discarded stuff on roads and outside houses, even if there are government provided garbage bins installed in each road.

As we know the problem, we can easily take steps to solve each one of them. Firstly, it is the government’s responsibilities to update the infrastructures according to latest demand of the society. Secondly, there should be a ban on the products made of the synthetic material. For instance, recently CDA- ISLAMABAD- has put a ban on plastic bag, which will hopefully prove to be a major step towards a clean environment. Thirdly, local councils should regulate the garbage picking department and strict policies and procedures should be implemented to pick litter and other garbage from house to house on a regular basis, and they should also extend this service to other areas. Finally, there should be a huge campaign to increase awareness among masses to keep their area clean, which will consequently result in increased health and reduced diseases.

In conclusion, It is the responsibility of both the government and the people to work together to solve this issue. But prevention is better than cure, so I think the ban on such products will help incredibly in the long run.