Nowadays international tourism is the biggest industry in the world Unfortunately international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

These days, global tourism has become the largest industry worldwide. While it is argued that it promotes more tension than understanding between different cultures, I disagree with this notion as international tourism has the potential to foster cross-cultural understanding outweighs the drawbacks.

One of the primary reasons why international tourism can create tension is because several foreign travelers may engage in impolite behaviors. More specifically, some visitors often participate in behaviors that are not acceptable in the countries they visit, which can leave a bad impression to locals of those nations. For example, women in some countries of the Middle East have been required to wear headscarves in public. If tourists disregard this custom and fail to cover their heads, it may be perceived as disrespectful and considered to be a taboo against locals. As a result, this can result in tension between foreign visitors and local residents.

However, cross-country tourism can foster mutual understanding between nations as it provides tourists the opportunity to immerse themselves in foreign cultures and learn new traditions. Therefore, by traveling to different parts of the world, tourists can gain a deeper appreciation for cultural diversities and develop greater understanding and empathy for people from different backgrounds. For instance, tourists visiting a traditional Japanese tea ceremony may gain an insight into the importance of respect and ritual in Japanese culture, which can help foster greater mutual respect and understanding between people from different cultures.

In conclusion, although international tourism can create tension between countries due to impolite behaviors from tourists, I believe that it will bring mutual understanding. I am also convinced that every tourist should look for customs and habits of the countries they visit before traveling formally in order not to cause any tension.