Nowadays it is common for people to follow the latest fashion trends. What could be the possible reasons that influence people to do so? Is this a positive or negative development?

People are getting more and more attracted to modern fashion trends. Despite this is said to have some positive impacts on society. This essay supports the idea that such development is negative more than being positive. The reasons and explanations for this shall be provided with further details.

The rise in number of people after the latest fashion is believed to be psychological in the first place. There is no doubt that looking attractive is not a flaw in someone’s personality. However, back in the days, people who cared about clothing styles were used to belong to the affluent class. Today, this has changed a lot. Many teens, for example, are trying to bond with like – minded people. Thus, they try to express their personality through fashion. At the same time, many youngsters find it glamorous to follow celebrities. The chant of being famous and listened to might be attractive to this group. Although, this might sound acceptable to some parents and elderly, but insights on the reasons behind this might reveal personality problems and lack of confidence too.

The tendency to be following new styles can be seen as negative for both personal and family economics reasons. On an individual level, especially on college students, purchasing the latest clothes and gadgets is a huge time waste. Students have limited time to spend on their studies. Therefore, it is believed that priorities among students have changed. Some are even planning to become models or actors in order to gain more money. Consequently, some analysts and educationalists believe that nowadays students are being mind – corrupted by following new fashion. Concerning family economics, some parents are struggling to supply their sons and daughters with the new stuff they are requesting. It is believed that on the long term, families may face financial repercussion in the sake of making their children look classy and attractive.

To sum up, fashion popularity is increasing nowadays than ever before. There are some personality reasons behind this as being attracted to a certain model or icon. Also, the need to be surrounded by people with similar personality might be an explanation for this trend. However, I firmly believe that this is a drawback for both individuals and families.