Nowadays larger distances are traveled by people to work and study on a daily basis. Some consider it to be a negative development, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While traveling for a long distance on a daily basis has become a norm in modern life, there is a controversial debate on whether or not it is a positive development. This essay follows the opinion that merit of this trend for society outweigh its drawback and the reasoning behind both perspectives will be discussed in this essay.

Long-distance traveling would contribute to the success of both individuals and the economy. Firstly, long-distance commuters have more options to study or work. The geographical location was a major factor in the decision-making process of students or employees before, since traveling for a long distance was impossible in the past. However, these days, people are not forced to relocate to a new place, and instead, they could keep their location while commuting every day with high-speed public transportations or personal vehicles. Secondly, private and public sectors could also get benefit from this development due to the availability of workforces everywhere. With more people ready to travel, companies are more flexible in order to fill their vacancies, and companies do not have to raise salaries to attract limited workforces in a place

However, critics mentioned several adverse consequences of this development. These travels are time-consuming, so workers or students have less time for their private lives. Therefore, this would affect people's work-life balance, leading to stress-related illnesses, such as depression or obesity, and lower life quality in the long-term. Besides that, it is also an undeniable fact that these volumes of traffic have negative effects on the environment. With low-quality fuels and non-standard vehicles, the amount of daily commute would contribute heavily to global warming due to the emission of hazardous gas.

In conclusion, while there are downsides with the new trends that people commute for a long distance every day, this essay believes that there more advantages for both individuals and society by continuing this plan.