Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is true that the advent of the internet has changed people's lives worldwide drastically. While some think that the internet should be free for everyone and the government should subsidize the cost, critics argue that it is not practical. The reasons behind each side would be discussed, and I will express my point of view in the conclusion.

Proponents of free-internet for everyone, offer various reasons to support their argument. Firstly, these days, there are vital tasks, ranging from financial transactions with banks to research and education, which could only be accessed via the internet. It is not fair that people be deprived of these services due to financial issues. Secondly, free-internet increase the overall quality of life for everyone for poor people, who do not easily access to the internet. Not only people could communicate more convenient via the internet, but also do they could entertain without spending too much money on outside activities.

However, the opponents, who do not reject the vital role of the internet, have concerns regarding this plan. They point to the fact that the government's budget should be allocated to plans with higher priority, such as improvement in infrastructure, state education system, or healthcare facilities. Furthermore, interference of the government would influence the economic balance in the internet market. While, now, internet providers compete to attract costumers by both increasing the quality and decreasing the cost, the new plan would lead the private sector to bankruptcy. Finally, if people oblige to pay for their usage of the internet, they would surf the web or download files responsibly, but when the internet is free of charge, people would not care about their usage anymore.

In conclusion, whereas there are some merits for free-internet for everyone, I believe that it is not a practical plan, and the government should spend money on urgent plans.