Nowadays many individuals spend more time out of their hometown. Why is it happening? What is the impact of this on a person and their family?

Nowadays, double income families have become a norm in society and consequently individuals spend less time with their family. One of the main reasons for this trend is that the world turns to a small village in which people have to communicate more than they did in the past and the expansion of business globally affected humans significantly. This had great influence on families such as lack of intimacy and supervision.

There are a variety of reasons for people’s travelling across the globe and spending less time in their hometown. Firstly, business has become an international trade and in many developed countries affluent people and politicians invest money in developing countries by running factories that produce commodities that are cheaper for the consumers as a result of cheap labor. Secondly, many young people are interested in developing their education and skills in prestigious universities overseas. Meanwhile, a majority of professional tutors have to travel to these universities to hold the classes. Finally,

This issue would influence families in various ways. It is argued that parents are less involved in children’s upbringing and they are not aware of how their young children spend their time. Consequently, many adolescents become delinquent due to the lack of family supervision and the peer pressure. Furthermore, many people who spend the majority of their time far from home feel homesick which will lead to depression in the future. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that in the USA almost 30% of the overseas students feel isolated and depressed as a result of loneliness.

In conclusion, although in this technologically advanced world parents have to work hard in order to cover the life costs and make a comfortable life for their families, they should take the advantages of technology and reduce the number of their missions to other nations by making video conferences or meetings. I believe that the family values should be concerned as the most important parts of people’s lives.