Nowadays many mothers take care of the family and don't go out to work. Some people believe they should be given salaries by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether homemakers should be paid salaries for taking care of their families. I believe that this should not be the case, as it would create a sense of injustice in society.

Although it is a widely held belief that the government should support housewives for their household duties and family responsibilities by granting monthly allowances, in practice, this would be grossly unfair to employed women. This is due to the fact that working ladies have to also take care of their families, as well as their job responsibilities. If the government would offer benefits to only one group, and neglect others, then it would spread the feeling of unfairness in society. In addition to this, those women who choose not to work and stay at home for elderly or child care, do so with their personal choice. For these reasons, it would be inappropriate to remunerate the unemployed mothers.

In fact, far from being beneficial for the community, there would be adverse future implications of paying jobless mothers. The most serious of which would be related to widened sex ratio gap at workplaces and loss of educational value. With regard to the former, most women would prefer to quit their jobs when given financial aid from the government for family care and being jobless, which would lead to a fewer number of women employees in the fields of medicine and technology as compared to men, and would create male-dominated societies. Loss of interest in education would be another consequence of paying unoccupied mothers, as most of the young females would have the assurance of future financial support from the government, they would start neglecting their studies knowing this fact, and as a result, educational value for women would be lost. These detrimental facts make it less important that government should provide financial benefits to homemakers.

In conclusion, I disagree with this viewpoint that jobless mothers should be given salaries for taking care of their families because it would bring injustice, especially to the women workforce, and would have serious drawbacks in relation to the imbalance in gender ratio and loss of educational value.