Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In most of the countries, shopping is considered to be the best way to spend idle hours by adults. This essay will first discuss the possible reasons behind this phenomenon and later, agrees that this growing trend may have adverse implications on the future life of the young adults.

The main reason for shopping as an all-time favourite recreational activity is the independence of the modern generation. As the majority of youngsters stay away from their parents and there is nobody to spend time at home, shopping is an easy way to meet friends, buy products and relax. For instance, the recent study by Cambridge University clearly shows that 70% of the young adults spend their weekends at shopping centres and admit that in this way they feel stress-free and rejuvenated. Another possible reason for being a shopaholic is the popularity of e-commerce sites As it is quite easy to kill their idle time by exploring and ordering products online with the click of a button, shopping is becoming an emerging trend nowadays to relax in free time.

Despite these reasons to ease oneself by frequent shopping, I think that this is a negative development. Because young adults tend to spend money on unnecessary items, which they actually do not require. By developing this habit of overspending they fail to manage their financial budget in the future and as a result, pay high rates of interest on the mortgage to satisfy their basic needs. Data published in Times Now also reveals that 50% of the loan takers are adults who pay instalments to meet their rudimentary requirements but spend their salary on purchasing unwanted items. Seen in this light, this behaviour has adverse ramifications.

To conclude, unlimited liberty and convenience of technology are the possible reasons which encourage individuals to purchase goods in their leisure time. At the same time, I feel that this prevalent trend of buying worthless products by youngsters paves the way to face the burden of debts and therefore, it is certainly a negative development.