Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that in many countries, young individuals are adopting shopping as one of the most practiced activities in their spare time. In this essay, I will delve deeper into this topic by discussing different causes and their constructive and detrimental effects on our societies of the aforementioned viewpoint, while advocating for the latter.

To begin with, one of the primary reasons for adolescents to visit different shops in leisure is to follow contemporary fashion. This implies that the teenagers are likely to purchase newly released commodities such as outfits, shoes or wrist watches in the market whereby they could showoff the trending valuables to their family and friends so that they might assert their dominance in their social circle. Consequently, the adverse effect of such practice is that this can create a sense of competition in the community, which may make people more judgmental to others, thereby, giving other respect according to what they possess.

Furthermore, having an increasing overall people’s purchasing power is another reason that juveniles go for shopping more frequently. This means that due to globalization, many nations are able to extend their businesses across the world so the economy situation in their territories might be better than before. As a result, the positive outcome from this scenario is that people can earn extra money and they could afford more buying , hence improving their lifestyle than older times .

In conclusion, although people may favour the productive influence of extreme shopping, I personally believe that its negative consequences can severely impact our societies. However, the general populace should adopt moderate purchasing behaviours so that they can avoid creating a sense of competition in their social surroundings.