Some people think that libraries are wastage of resources and money So computer should replace them. However, others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this digital world, almost everything is available in electronic form. Therefore, It is often argued that the maintenance of libraries is a huge investment and unnecessarily demand resources, and should be taken over by electronic gadgets such as laptops, PCs and tablets. However, others disagree and believe that libraries are an important source of information. This essay agrees with the latter viewpoint and discusses both the arguments with the examples.

Firstly, public libraries are an accessible source of information to each and everyone in society. Anyone can easily go to the study centre and choose anything to read without any restriction. On the other hand, electronic personal devices are costly and economically weaker category cannot afford to buy such expensive devices to read the e-books. Secondly, one can rely on the authenticity of reading material such as books, journals and magazines available in the libraries. All the books present in the libraries are written by well-known authors and hence, reliable. At the same time, the content available on the internet is not always genuine because everyone can post anything online and it is difficult to verify the veracity of the content available online. Therefore, this essay agrees that libraries are an asset to society.

However, others hold a different opinion and think that libraries lead to wastage of critical resources and need continuous maintenance cost. Therefore, advancement in the field of computers should be used to prevent this. This is because the paper-based books result in logging of the trees to generate paper and digital books are the best alternative to stop deforestation. For instance, Amazon's Kindle is a prime example of reading books online in digital form and money invested in reference centres can be spent on other developments. However, this essay disagrees with this viewpoint because of the advantages libraries offer are certainly for the benefit of an individual and society, and paper usage can be reduced in many other ways. For instance, electronic bills can be generated over the hard copy of the bills. Instead, computer technology can be used to automate the manual process of issuing books in a library but not for its replacement. Therefore, it would be invalid to replace the information centres for these reasons.

To conclude, advancement in technology should be welcomed to computerized the existing process but the importance of libraries in their fundamental role cannot be put aside and administration should invest in the libraries without any second thought.