Nowadays, people have adopted an unhealthy lifestyle. Why do think this is? How could this problem be solved?

Over the past few years, the advancement in technology has made human life easy and comfortable. However, it has made some detrimental effects on human health such as poor diet and lack of physical activity. This essay will first discuss the long working hours as a primary reason leading to an unhealthy way of life and later submit the measures to be taken by governments and employers as the most viable solution.

Hours-long sitting jobs and use of electrical appliances are one of the major reasons affecting the well-being of people. This is due to their busy schedule and stressful jobs that working-class skip physical exercise and prefer to consume ready to eat packed or junk food, which causes serious health problems such as obesity and cardiac disorder. In addition to this, the extreme usage of automatic electrical utilities such as dishwasher, washing machine and transport vehicles such as cars and bikes also plays a major role in a reduced passive form of exercise. For instance, our ancestors used to be physically fit due to walking miles of distance daily to reach out to each other and automatically indulged in strenuous physical activities to carry out their usual tasks with manpower.

One possible solution to this problem would be the initiatives to be taken by the administration. Governments should enforce strict laws to limit the working hours and impose a heavy amount of fine on those acting against the law. At the same time, the authorities should also launch health awareness programs to make people aware of the benefits of a balanced diet and physical exercise. For example, New Zealand is one such country, which has enacted law of fixed 40 hours of work per week and money collected from the fines is invested in various health-related programs. In addition to this, employers should also organize fitness programs to promote the health of their employees and managers should consistently encourage their team to participate in such activities to gain the benefit. For instance, most of the IT companies offer their workers free membership of a gym and motivate them to set fitness goals.

To conclude, people are leading a sedentary lifestyle due to the advancement in technology and extended working hours. In order to mitigate this problem, legal bodies should impose the aforementioned employment laws and employers should organise fitness events and push their staff to indulge in such events.