Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the objective of education should be to support individuals to give back to the community or to achieve their career goals. I believe that both should be taught, and neither should be focused at the expense of the other.

It is true that people should be educated to become responsible citizens and benevolent contributors. With regard to the former, a sense of responsibility is developed from education with which one can easily differentiate between right and wrong, thus education helps in reducing the crime rate in society, and builds it a better place for all of us to live in as well as for our counterparts in the future. As for willingness to give and share, children should be taught from the beginning in their primary classes to help less fortunate ones and be kind to others. Encouraging school children to take part in volunteering activities would be a good example of teaching this.

However, giving back to society is just one aim of academic training, the other important one is to enable individuals to accomplish their mission. As far as career goals are concerned, one with the right qualifications and educational background creates more employment opportunities for oneself. In fact, candidates who are well-versed are the ones employers would prefer to hire. Another way individuals are benefitted from education to fulfill their career aspirations is that some of them choose to become scientists and take part in scientific research to solve global problems such as global warming. This, help society and reach their goals.

In conclusion, I believe that the school curriculum should be focused on both enabling individuals to benefit society and achieving their ambitions. Young people should be trained in order to become responsible individuals, to find jobs for themselves, and at the same time to continue the progress of mankind.