Nowadays, many people are trying to make themselves look younger than they really are.

What are the reasons for this, it is a positive or negative development?

Nobody is a stranger to the fact that in this day and age a lot of people concern about how to look younger. As far as I can see, I have to say that there are several reasons why this situation has come to pass, and there are both drawbacks and benefits.

There is no shortage of reasons why, as I see it, this state of affairs occurs. Chief among these is that the media has created a stereotype of how men and women must look. The internet and the television have a numerous number of advertisements encouraging to buy products to look younger. In addition, it is clear that society does not recognize other values that aging brings to the individuals. For instance, old people are more selective choosing thing that they like, and, by and large, they manage the time and the money much better than young people.

Be that as it may, however, there are consequences. To my way of thinking, one of the positive benefits of this turn of events is that people increase their self-esteem levels. It is a fact that the human-being improves in many areas such as job, relationships and studies when they feel younger. On the other hand, if people do not control this situation, it could bring plenty of problems for society. To name but one example is the increasing of sicknesses such as stress, anorexia and so on.

In my own experience, the state of affairs in my home country, Colombia, is much the same as the way things are over the world. My home city of Bogota is a classic case in point. Here, it is easy to see people obsessed trying to look younger, buying hundreds of beauty products all over the city. As well as this, hospitals are overcrowded treating people affected by obesity and anorexia.

At the end of the day, there are pros and cons to everything in life. This issue is no different to any other in this regard.