Nowadays, many people are trying to make themselves look younger than they really are.What are the reasons for this, it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a growing trend towards maintaining youthful looks has arisen among middle-age people, regardless of gender, in many countries. Although the causes associated with this trend can be pronounced, it brings about many positive changes overall.

There are certain reasons why people wish to look younger. First, in order to enhance their self-image, they have chosen to live up to society’s beauty expectations. In fact, recent evidence suggests that younger and attractive employees often rank higher in competence and credibility, which directly correlates with their successful career. In addition, the standard of beauty defined by media portrayals can influence the public’s perception. For example, by looking up to cover girls, middle-aged women would be filled with insecurities, rendering them more conscious about their looks, which forces them to appear gorgeous in front of others.

Besides, the attempts to sustain youthful looks can be seen as positive. First, as fitness and sport facilities come into play, citizens tend to get more serious about physical activities, which inevitably slows down the aging process. For instance, plenty of evidence suggests that actively engaging in exercises can boost the metabolism rate, allowing these citizens to appear younger. Second, higher intake of healthy foods and drinks, such as vegetables or green tea, can prevent people from chronic illnesses associated with aging, especially obesity and diabetes. It can be implied that those deciding to keep a healthy eating diet will have younger looks, which is conducive to higher life expectancy.

In conclusion, the effort to maintain younger appearance is highly justified by its positive impact on the society. Individuals should take steps to better enhance their beauty in order to have a meaningful and fulfilling lives.