Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, juvenile delinquency has become rampant in many countries, both developed and developing ones, causing some public controversy. Although prosecuting juveniles as adults may offer some advantages, this cannot be viewed as the ultimate approach in dealing with youth crime.

On one hand, treating juvenile delinquents as adults is definitely unfair. First, during teenage years, these youngsters are not fully aware of their behaviors and the law system. Therefore, they will likely display some anti-social behaviors, such as drug abuse, and even inadvertently commit serious crimes without considering any ethical issues/future consequences. In addition, housing youthful offenders in adult prisons would hinder their education. In fact, this practice will inevitably deprive these juveniles of opportunities to go to schools, rendering them jobless and forcing them to re-offend to make a living.

On the other hand, showing no mercy for young criminals can be counterproductive. First, adolescences imprisoned in adult correctional facilities are subject to sexual abuse and violence. As a result, they would face stress and chronic trauma that affect their mental health, leading to a higher incentive to commit crimes. Second, juvenile delinquents released into the community will likely face discrimination by other youngsters. In fact, the lack of education would discourage them from social engagement, thereby exposing them to anti-social activities.

In conclusion, even though the idea of trying adolescences as adults initially seems reasonable, the benefits still do not justify the consequences. When it comes to juvenile offenses, acting in the best interest of the young should be the top priority for policymakers.