Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this modern time, the majority of people tend to purchase lavish commodities such as clothes, cars and other accessories. There could be various elements driving this trend but the major ones are international marketing, status symbol and improved standard of living. In my opinion, this is a negative phenomenon and has adverse ramifications on domestic trade.

As far as the cause behind the increased tendency of purchasing expensive products is concerned, international brands are flooding the local markets. This is due to the availability and accessibility of platforms such as the internet and television adverts to promote these products on a global scale. As a result, people are now more familiar with the popular manufacturing companies and want to buy products from them. For instance, Apple advertises its phones and tablets at a large scale and attracts customers across the globe. Another reason for this growing trend is the sense of materialism. Modern society gives more importance to fancy items and judges each other on the basis of possessing designer clothes and luxurious cars. Therefore, in order to maintain this social image, people buy more such items. The final element driving this change in the shopping tendency is the improved quality of life. People are nowadays wealthier as compared to the past and spend money on splendid accessories.

Although this behaviour is quite prevalent among people, it has adverse implications on the local economy. It is because most of the popular brands are international manufacturers and with the increased sale of such products, the regional retailers suffer. For example, the annual sale of Maruti cars has been decreased significantly since 2018 when its global competitors BMW, Audi and Ford entered the Indian automobile industry. Therefore, by considering the effect of consumerism of such products, it is certainly a negative development.

In conclusion, global advertising, tendency to show off and better lifestyle changes are some of the factors which boost the sale of prominent brands and attract customers, who purchase such products. By considering the effect of this consumerism on the local market, I would describe it as a negative movement.