More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive development or negative?

Opinions are divided on whether this attitude that dressing up in designer clothes is important should be considered as a positive or a negative trend. I believe that the latter is the case, and wearing such dresses is more of a luxury than a necessity.

Although it is widely held belief that fashionable style of dress is essential to keep oneself up with the Joneses, in practice, this does not apply to everyone. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that such outfits are quite expensive and cost a fortune to someone who belongs to a middle-class family. People belonging to these families would run into debts if they squander their money on buying such fancy apparels, which would have an adverse effect on their dependents. Another reason for fashionable dresses being less beneficial to certain people could be because these dresses outdate every next year and trends keep on changing, which means that this phenomenon of giving so much value to these type of clothes does not have long-term benefits, and not everyone would prefer to buy these for being a luxury item.

In fact, far from being a valuable, fashionable sense of dressing is a negative development for the reasons related to acceptability and comfortability. With regard to the former, designer garments are not widely accepted, especially at work, as well as at religious places. The expectation there is to dress up sensibly, and sometimes entry is prohibited with an inappropriate style of dress, which could be embarrassing at times. As far as comfortability is concerned, most of the lavish dresses are designed specifically to tailor the needs of celebrities to wear on special occasions and carrying those clothes on a regular basis by ordinary people would be uncomfortable. For these reasons, the importance to wear trendy clothes is a negative attitude.

In conclusion, instead of being a need, fashionable clothing is a part of a luxurious lifestyle. Having said that, this notion that it is important to wear fashionable clothes is a negative development, as it is not suited for everyone on every occasion.